Southwest Electric Cooperative is part of a 3-tiered system of electric cooperatives that generate, transmit and distribute electricity to the rural residents and businesses of the state.

  1. Electricity is generated by Associated Electric Cooperative based in Springfield, Missouri.
  2. That power is transmitted from AECI's generation facilities to substations by six transmission cooperatives. Two of these transmission cooperatives, KAMO Power Electric Cooperative, located in Vinita, Oklahoma and Sho-Me Power Electric Cooperative, located in Marshfield, Missouri, own and maintain the substations serving SWEC's system.
  3. The electricity is then distributed from the substations to homes, farms and businesses by 40 distribution cooperatives throughout Missouri. Southwest Electric Cooperative is a distribution cooperative.




Call us at 800-262-0326 or  Contact Us